CWG 2010 Day 3 : 28 gold medals at stake

by bharathi 2010-10-06 10:25:09

New Delhi: India will look to consolidate their second position in the medals tally on Day 3 of the Commonwealth Games as 28 gold medals are up for grabs today.

Four of these though come singularly from the sport of shooting as Olympic champion Abhinav Bindra will be gunning for Gold in his pet event 10 m air rifles (Singles).

He will expect stiff challenge from compatriot Gagan Narang in the same event. The duo gave India a gold medal in the pairs competition of the same event on Day 2.

World Champion Ronjan Sodhi will also be in action in the Double Trap pairs event and so will be Omkar Singh and Deepak Sharma in the 50 m Pistol singles event. This duo too had shot silver for the host nation in the pairs event on Tuesday.

Also in action would be India's lone warrior in the pool Virdhawal Khade who will fight for a medal in the final of the 50m butterfly event.

The Indian women's hockey team is slated for a tough match against world champions Australia. Their first match against Scotland ended in a draw. The men's team began their Commonwealth campaign with a 3-2 win over Malaysia yesterday in the first match of the pool.

Although India had a bad day in weightlifting on Tuesday but the hosts would love to get medals from Renu Bala Chanu (58 kg women) and Ravi Kumar (69 kg men) today.

In archery, the Indian team which one of the strongest teams in the competition will look to continue the good work in the team events.

Medal winning pugilist Jai Bhagwan will be in action in the Lightweight category.

GOLD MEDALS AT STAKE: Aquatics (9), Cycling (4), Wrestling (4), Shooting (4), Athletics (3), Gymnastics (2) and Weightlifting (2)

The following is Wednesday's complete schedule of Indian participation at the Commonwealth Games.


800m Freestyle Women: Surabhi Tipre

100m Freestyle Men: Aaron Agnel Dsouza, Virdhawal Vikram Khade, Anshul Kothari

100m Butterfly Women: Pooja Raghava Alva, Shubha Chittaranjan

200m Backstroke Men: Rohit Rajendra Havaldar, Rehan Jahangir Poncha, Praveen Tokas

200m Breaststroke Women: Raghavi Manipal, Poorva Kiran Shetye

4 x 200m Freestyle Relay Women: Pooja Raghava Alva, Shubha Chittaranjan, Arti Bajarang Ghorpade, Talasha Satish Prabhu, Sneha Thirugnanasambandam, Surabhi Tipre

Synchronised: Avani Kardam Dave, Kavita Chandras Kolapkar, Bijal Vijay Vasant


Recurve Team Women: Dola Banerjee, Deepika Kumari, Bombayala Devi Laishram.

Recurve Team Men : Rahul Banerjee, Tarundeep Rai, Jayanta Talukdar

Compound Team Women : Bheigyabati Chanu, Jhano Hansdah, Gagandeep Kaur

Compound Team Men: Ritul Chatterjee, Jignas Chittibomma, Chinna Raju Srither


100m Men: Nagaraj Gobbargumpi, Md Abdul Najeeb Qureshi, Krishnakumar Satish Rane

400m Women: Mandeep Kaur, Manjeet Kaur Shot Put Men: Om Prakash Singh Karhana, Navpreet Singh, Sourabh Vij

5000m Men: Sandip Kumar, Sunil Kumar Boxing:

Lightweight (60kg) Men: Jai Bhagwan

Welterweight (69 kg) Men: Dilbag Singh


Keirin Men: Rajesh Chandrashekhar, Amrit Singh, Bikram Singh

Team Sprint Women: Ch. Rameshwori Devi, Rejani Kumari

40km Points Race Men: Rajendra Kumar Bishnoi, Atul Kumar Singh, Satbir Singh

Sprint Men: Rajesh Chandrashekhar, Amrit Singh, Bikram Singh

Team Pursuit Men: Prince Hylem, Vinod Malik, Dayala Ram Saran, Sombir

Gymnastics Artistic:

Individual All-Around Men and Women event


Women Group A: India vs Australia

Lawn Bowls:

Pairs Women Group A: India vs Botswana

Triples Men Group A: India vs Malta

Pairs Women Group A: India vs South Africa

Triples Men Group A: India vs South Africa

Triples Women Group B: India vs Scotland

Pairs Men Group B: India vs Malaysia

Triples Women Group B: India vs Jersey

Pairs Men Group B: India vs Guernsey


Women Group A: India vs Malawi


Pairs Double Trap Men: Asher Noria, Ronjan Sodhi

Singles 25 m Pistol Women: Rahi Sarnobat, Anisa Sayyed

Singles 50 m Pistol Men: Deepak Sharma, Omkar Singh

Singles 10 m Air Rifle Men: Abhinav Bindra, Gagan Narang


Men and Women Singles

Table Tennis:

Men and Women team quarterfinals


58kg Women: Renu Bala Chanu Yumnam

69kg Men: Ravi Kumar Katulu

Tagged in:


You must LOGIN to add comments